Month: February 2013

  • I feel like after ten years here, I'm finally becoming well known in the music community.  I've been playing the violin for a lot of weddings, judging Solo and Ensemble competitions, conducting violin sectionals at Cameron's school, and I was just asked to conduct the National Anthem at my Symphony's concert next week... w00t!  More and more people refer to know me as the "Messiah" conductor too which is cool.

    We got our new desk in.  Mike spent 4 hours putting it together last night and didn't even get it to the hutch... it has a ton of pieces.  There were two pieces scratched, so they are sending replacement parts.  No, it's not real wood, but it still looks really nice and was a fraction of the price of the real wood desks. 

    http://www.officedepot.com/a/products/475994/Realspace-Broadstreet-Contoured-U-Shaped-Desk/

    We're still putting our house back together from the painting/ carpet, but at least the downstairs is done.  It's really our room that is the last remnants of everything.  After that's done, then I want to finish painting, since we rushed to paint the carpeted areas and didn't paint any tile areas yet.  We're almost done with renovations and then we're saving the rest for other expenditures we have or may have this year.

  • The weather is crazy today!  41 mph wind gusts... the wind is so strong and there isn't even a storm; it's sunny.  The kids are having fun being blown away while they try to walk or play.

  • So, I filed our taxes... yea for large tax returns!  Cameron had a another tennis match but lost that one.  Emma and I went to the park on Friday and she had fun.  Saturday, Errolyn won her volleyball game.  And then Friday and Saturday we put more of the house back together and Mike and I looked at tables and desks online and at various stores.  Oh, and I signed Emma up for a dance class today.  There is a lady in our Stake that teaches dance for 7 weeks for only $35 and she uses modest costumes!  Way cheaper that what I paid for Errolyn at that age.  I won't keep her in dance long (I don't want to deal with the modesty/ morality issues that come with dancing as you get older), but I want her to develop her coordination, learn to listen, and have fun dancing (and I want to have the cute videos to look at of her dancing when she is little).  I think that's it... short week for me.

  • So, last week I went to the kids' Valentine parties at school.  Emma had a fun time mooching off of the party food.  Dad came into town Friday and it was good to see him.  Logan and Errolyn both had dances at their school and did a good job dancing.  Dad went with me to Errolyn's dance and Emma and the kids had fun dancing afterwards and then petting the rabbits and goats outside.  Although, one goat kept headbutting the rabbits which was scaring Emma.  Cameron had his first tennis match and won both matches, even the last one against the 8th grader.  But, he didn't drink enough water and was dehydrated and feeling really badly afterwards.  Errolyn won her volleyball game.  Afterwards, Mike and I prepped our room for painting and then he went to Stake Conference.  I went over to Grandma's and had a good time visiting with everyone.  Verne, Debbie, and Donne were in town and it was fun to see them again.  Later I joined Mike for the adult session and then went to Applebees with friends.

    The Sunday Stake Conference was a broadcast.  Dad came with us, for which I was grateful since I had to lead the music and Mike had to set up the broadcast and make sure the other buildings were set-up.  Then we went to Carol's for lunch with everyone.  We had a great time talking to everyone and left after a couple of hours since we still had some things we needed to get done.  Monday, I painted again and then went to the rodeo with Carol, my cousin Brian, and the kids.  It was fun, but way crowded.  The kids' favorite ride was the giant slide and they went on it several times.  We didn't even go to the petting zoo because the line was so long, but the kids enjoyed seeing the other animals and the snake exhibit.  We got home way too late and Mike and I were moving furniture way into the night.

    We woke up and moved the rest of the furniture before the carpet installers arrived.  And... we have NEW carpet!  Yea!!  It is so nice!  But, I made the mistake of not wearing a mask while they were ripping out the old carpet and the dust in the air really irritated me.  In fact, I am now sick.  Wonderful, since my whole house is practically in the kitchen right now.  I guess we will have to slowly put things back.  I'm taking medicine so hopefully this won't last long.  Emma is also sick and couldn't go to playgroup today.  At least we don't have a deadline and can work at our own pace now.

  • Temporary Home

    I've heard this song before, but the other day I listened to the words and they really moved me, especially the last verse.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LraOiHUltak

     

  • Yeah... no big journals this week from anyone.  Stomach flu... accidentally took Ambien instead of Synthroid- horrible day of sleeping... painting, cleaning, painting, school, painting... Cameron made tennis team!... Logan made Adventure Riders Club!... Errolyn good in volleyball... Emma night trained (we think)... picking out carpet... and more painting.  I have a hugely long private post that I may share someday... but we'll see.

  • So, Mike and I are in the process of picking out new carpet.  We've selected the type and brand of carpet, but we're waiting for some larger color samples to arrive so we can pick the best color.  And before the carpet gets installed we really wanted to repaint the house.  So, we've been madly painting the last two days and will probably be painting the rest of the week.  Finding the right color paint was a process.  I bought 6 paint samples trying to find the right color paint.  I finally found the one I liked, but when they converted the sample formula to a 5 gallon bucket, it came out much, much lighter.  I was so frustrated.  They ended up adding in 2 more gallons worth of dye and now it finally matches what the sample looked like... so weird.  We gave away the couches in the front two rooms to someone on Craigslist and our table and chairs in the front two rooms to a friend who needed a table.  Nobody has claimed the brown recliner so we will give it to Salvation Army.  I'm still seeing if anyone needs another table, if not I'll post the kitchen table on Craigslist too.  We're trying to get rid of as much furniture as possible (that we're planning on replacing) so it'll be easier to paint and install the carpet... and then we'll go get replacements as needed after the carpet is in.  It's always sad to get rid of things you've had a while... but most everything was stuff I'd bought at a garage sale 10 years ago... and it has been well used and loved and is way past it's prime.

    Cameron tried out for the tennis team this week... wish him luck!  I had Symphony this week and have started carpooling with a friend which is much nicer than driving alone since it's so far away. Errolyn did awesome in her volleyball game; she is pretty good now.  Errolyn and Logan bore their testimonies today.  They were both sweet, but Errolyn shared an experience she had last night and everyone told her how much they enjoyed her testimony.  The teacher in Sunday School even referred back to her story since the lesson was on personal revelation.  Other than that, my life has been consumed with school work, painting, carpet, and furniture.  Fun stuff.