July 7, 2013

  • Let’s see, Tuesday we brought dinner to the missionaries and Wednesday I brought dinner to someone who had just had a baby. Also, on Wednesday, I woke up feeling like I needed to go to the temple… so, I went and did an endowment session. I’ve had a lot on my mind and it was so nice to go and feel the Spirit so strongly and receive the guidance I was seeking.

    On Thursday, our ward met at a park for a flag raising ceremony, a mile run, and a 4th of July breakfast. I teared up a little during the pledge… still proud to be an American and grateful for the freedoms we still have in this country. I wasn’t planning on going on the run because of Emma, but when she saw her Daddy running by she took off after him… so we ended up going on the run after all with Emma yelling, “My Daddy. I want my Daddy,” the whole way. I was proud of her for running so far even if it was in desperation… lol. Mike took 3rd on the run with a time of 6 minutes, 30 seconds (although he feels he preserved his energy too much for the final stretch and could have finished much faster) and Cameron was first for the youth, although he later found out the other youth didn’t even run. Errolyn took 2nd for Senior Primary and Logan finished but we don’t know what place. Emma and I were near the back.

    Later, we met at our neighborhood clubhouse for lunch and a pool party. The kids had raft races and Logan took 2nd for his age group and received a prize. Then we were going to leave but the lady in charge told us there was a money dive starting soon. The kids of course wanted to stay. Emma found a little over $4 in change in the baby pool, Logan and Errolyn found $4+ in the big pool, and Cameron a little over $6. Emma and Logan both found silver and gold dollar coins, which they got to keep but which also let them receive an extra prize bag with toys and candy. Since Logan found two dollar coins we let Errolyn have his second prize since Cameron had received a candy bag at the ward activity in the morning. I guess Cameron also received another prize on his way out because the host felt badly that he was walking out with nothing.

    In the afternoon, we went over to Kathy’s to celebrate Jeff’s birthday. We had a good time talking, but afterwards Cameron and Logan’s eyes started to swell from being around the cat. In the evening we drove to a small town nearby for their fireworks show. We got there 3 hours early to hang out with friends and play sports and run around. The fireworks show was great, as usual. We were all exhausted from our long day.

    Friday evening, Mike and I went to a pool party and had a good time talking with friends. On Saturday morning, we all helped clean the church and then came home and cleaned some more. Carol came over in the afternoon and the kids attempted to put together some wood crafts she had brought over. In the evening, Mike and I went to a goodbye party for some friends and then went to see World War Z. I hated it. Everyone I had talked to loved it, but it was too “horror” like for my taste. I can stand a little scary and violence, but I hate horror movies and this was way too much horror for me. I wanted to walk out, but rationalized staying. I told Mike next time I felt like that I would leave and for him not to feel badly. He said that was fine. I watched another movie about Zombies a few weeks ago, and I’ve decided I really don’t like Zombies and have no desire to read books about them or see movies about them ever again.

    Today, Logan, Errolyn, and Cameron all bore their testimonies. Logan did a good job, Errolyn shared an experience last week where she felt the Spirit really strong, and Cameron bore one of the best testimonies I’ve ever heard him give about Jesus Christ and the scriptures. I’m so proud of the wonderful young men and young women my children are turning out to be! Cameron is finishing his packing for Scout Camp and has to wake up at 3am to get ready and leave… fun stuff.

Comments (1)

  • You do have awesome children, but I think that has a little bit to do with their awesome parents. I am proud of the efforts of all our children to raise their families unto the Lord. Love you.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *