June 2, 2013

  • Random things:

    Mike fixed the broken printer... it wasn't feeding the paper on one side because a fruit snack was stuck between the paper... wonderful.

    We get each kid their own Friend or New Era, depending on their age, and I love seeing how excited they get when it arrives in the mail! They are so excited to read it, although I think half the excitement is just getting their own mail.

    So, swim team started and has consumed our lives! Logan and Errolyn are both doing well, but I will be glad when practice switches to mornings instead of in the middle of dinner time. Last Tuesday was crazy!! I took Logan and Errolyn to swim team. Mike came to the pool after work so I could take Cameron and Emma to his orchestra concert. Mike took Errolyn and Logan home to change and then dropped Errolyn off at Activity Days. He took Logan to the church while he helped with temple recommends. When Cameron's concert was done, I picked up Errolyn and met Mike and Logan at home. I hate when everything happens on the same night.

    Last Friday, I ate with Logan and Errolyn at school. Mike stayed home and finished the wall/ door he built to make Logan's new bedroom. It looks super good! On Saturday, I was supposed to play a concert with the professional Symphony here, but it was flooding all over town and got cancelled. So, instead Errolyn and I went to Houston to visit my Dad since I was really worried about him. Cameron really wanted to go, but I promised I would take him next time. I won't go into details but my Dad has had extreme kidney stone problems and pains... I have a difficult time thinking of him going through so much pain. It's just not fair and I wish I could do something to help him. We had a good time seeing everyone in Houston and came back late Sunday evening.

    On Monday, we took the kids downtown to a really cool wooden park that they love. They also played in some above the ground fountains/ sprinklers and then we walked down to the river for a minute. Later, the Updike's came over and went swimming with us. We came back and ate dinner and talked since we had both had our FHE's earlier in the day because it was a holiday. On Wednesday, Logan had his trophy party for t-ball and had a good time.

    On Saturday, we cleaned the house and then went to Logan's last t-ball game. He hit really well without the tee. He's improved quite a bit and has a natural ability to know where he needs to get the ball to get people out. He also throws really well. Then Logan went to a birthday party at the skating rink. He was the only kid who could skate without needing the rolling cart to hold onto and he had a great time skating with his friends since he'd been asking to go skating for a while. Cameron and Errolyn went to a birthday party across the street and also had fun. Emma just went shopping with me... poor thing... no party. But, she did get new sandals which she desperately needed.

    In the evening, we picked up our friends, the Updikes, and went to the Symphony since I had received 4 free tickets from the Symphony since I wasn't able to play with them the week before because of the flood. The Symphony played Mahler Symphony no. 3 and I loved it!! The last movement is so moving to me and absolutely gorgeous! I think the others got bored pretty quickly, but I really enjoyed it. Afterwards, we went to La Madeleine for dessert and to talk. We had a good evening.

Comments (2)

  • Sweetheart, thank you for visiting me while I was not feeling well, but your perspective, while appreciated, is a bit off. We have a lady in our ward who has been suffering with a slow cancer for years. We have a brother with several children and he has had cancer off and on for years. We have another brother who has a severe nerve disease. All I had to do is suffer pain for a couple days and then I am well. I am so fortunate I can't even express how grateful I am to Heavenly Father. So far in my life, all my "ills" have been short-term and not debilitating. How blessed am I?

    Thank you for sharing what the kids do, since we are not close. Love you.

  • @lomal - Someone will always have it worse, and you will always look at everything positively, but I still can't stand the thought of my Daddy in pain.  I love you too much.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment